Idaho Angus Association


Gem State Classic


Please Read UPDATED 

Rules and Regulations

Idaho Angus Auxiliary Black Angus Carcass Award

 Olivia Lammey of Canyon County, Idaho, received the state Idaho Angus Association Black Angus Carcass $100 Cash Award at the Annual Gem State Angus Banquet in Twin Falls, Idaho.  Lammey’s Black Angus steer had a carcass weight of 724 pounds.  The steer had a ribeye area of 12.5 inches, backfat measurement of .32 inches, yield grade of 2.53, and quality grade of Choice plus.  Thirty-three steers from within Idaho participated in all the contest.  The Idaho Angus Auxiliary sponsors this $100 cash award every year; each county extension office or county fair award organizer must send the carcass data from their county to the Carcass Award Chair for tabulation.  Parentage of the steers (at least 50% Black Angus; Black Angus sire or dam) must be verified and a statement of verification concerning parentage must accompany entries.  The criteria for judging the contest are the Certified Angus Beef (CAB) formula. 


2017 Idaho Angus Auxiliary Scholarship winners  

The Idaho Angus Association and Auxiliary would like to announce the 2017 scholarship recipients. 

Receiving $500 dollars is Wyatt Neal of Parma, Idaho, the son of Lee and Amy Nichols.  Neal plans to major in Agricultural Business Management and Animal Science at Montana State University.     

Receiving $250 is Mason Roberts of Kuna, Idaho he is the son of Trey and Robin Roberts. Roberts plans to attend the University of Idaho and major in Agricultural Business and Agriculture Education. 

Receiving $200 is Heston Curtis of Twin Falls, Idaho he is the son of Larry Curtis and Jeanette Fuller. Curtis plans to attend the College of Southern Idaho and the University of Idaho and major in Agricultural Business. 

Receiving $100 is Josey Gay of Jerome, Idaho she is the daughter of Curtis and Amber Gay. Gay plans to attend the College of Southern Idaho and major in Liberal Arts. 

 Congratulations to all the recipients

Judging Team Winners 2018 

Gem State Classic